Skip To ContentSkip To Content
    Student Artists Celebrated at Naramore
    Posted on 05/10/2016
    Best in Show winner Theo Whitney

    Congratulations to the 30 winners and the more than 200 district middle and high school students who are participating in the Naramore Art Show at the Seattle Art Museum.

    The winners were honored at the Awards Ceremony on Friday, May 6, but the show continues in SAM’s free Community Corridor until May 22.

    After the Hamilton Strings Trio -- led by music teacher Mika Armaly -- played at the Friday ceremony, Seattle Public Schools Arts Program Manager Gail Sehlhorst thanked SAM for hosting.

    “This art is where it should be. It belongs on the walls of one of the leading cultural institutions in our region,” Sehlhorst said. 

    She introduced Principal Leadership Coach Keisha Scarlett, who – as principal of South Shore PreK-8 – prioritized funding a full-time music teacher and a full-time visual arts teacher.

    “Arts are an opportunity for us to share our dreams of this world and other worlds, change perspectives on the human form, and – most of all – share the humanity that connects us all,” Scarlett told the students and their families before handing out award certificates.

    2016 Naramore Winners

    Best in Show
    Theo Whitney, The Center School (pictured above with his winning work)

    1st: Leah Ward, Chief Sealth High School
    2nd: Lily Foss, The Center School
    3rd: Ruby Trinneer, West Seattle High School
    3rd: Fame Lerber, Cleveland High School


    1st: Theo Whitney, The Center School
    2nd: Hana Beronja, Garfield High School
    3rd: Tuesday Smith, Garfield High School

    1st: Emma Puaa, Nathan Hale High School
    2nd: Ashlin Perkins, Ballard High School 
    2nd: Andre Alabastro, The Center School
    2nd: Callan Spafford, Roosevelt High School 
    3rd: Carynia Smith, West Seattle High School

    Mixed Media
    1st: Cui Ting Chen, Franklin High School 
    1st: Mika Kitazumi, Nova
    2nd: Jillian Rafanan, Nova
    3rd: Allen Burgess, Nova

    1st: Jenin Farayallah, Roosevelt High School
    2nd: Connor Kennedy and Nikki Simpson, Ballard High School
    2nd: Diana Bolano-Orozco, Chief Sealth High School
    3rd: Helen Schantz, Roosevelt High School 
    3rd: Payton McDaniel, Garfield High School 

    Middle School
    1st: Ariana Gallegos, Cascade Parent Partnership
    2nd: Rina Weusijana, Hazel Wolf K-8
    2nd: Evelyn Callahan, TOPS K-8
    3rd: Hannah Zizza, Hazel Wolf K-8
    4th: Evelyn Hootman, Madison Middle School
    4th: Noah Jensen, TOPS K-8
    5th: Fall Pirie, Eckstein Middle School
    5th: Emily Ross, Cascade Parent Partnership
    5th: Camryn Soo, TOPS K-8

    Visit our Naramore page to read more about the show. 

    Visit our Arts page to learn how the district is expanding arts access for students.