Skip To ContentSkip To Content

    Seattle School Board of Directors

    The Board of Directors for Seattle Public Schools is an elected body of seven citizens who serve four year terms and represent geographical regions within the City of Seattle.

    It is the belief of the Board of Directors and Superintendent that they are partners in the governance team of Seattle Public Schools. Both must do their jobs well for the organization to be successful and for the governance team as a whole to be effective.

    Community Engagement

    Directors hold various community meetings throughout the year. These meetings will be listed on their individual Director pages, as well as on our Board calendar. Please click here for full calendar of Board meetings.

    Work of the Board

    Responsibilities of the Board of Directors include: hiring and evaluating the Superintendent; establishing policies for governing the school district; adopting a balanced budget each year; having legal and fiduciary authority for the school district; adopting instructional materials; and, serving as community representatives to the district and on behalf of the district.

    Office of Internal Audit and Ethics

    Under the direction of the Audit and Finance Committee, the Office of Internal Audit and Ethics conducts audits to support and promote integrity, accountability, and transparency with respect to internal financial controls and compliance of the District.  The office also oversees the District's Ethics/Whistleblower Program.

    Policy Review

    One of the ongoing responsibilities of the Board of Directors is to establish policies that guide the operation of the School District. Visit our SPS Polices and Procedures pages.

    Contact info


    (All School Board Directors, Superintendent, and senior staff)


    (Only School Board Directors)

    Board of Directors and District Maps

    Map of the seven director districts

    District I
    Scott Pinkham

    District II
    Rick Burke
    (Vice President)

    District III
    Jill Geary

    District IV
    Eden Mack

    District V
    Zachary DeWolf

    District VI
    Leslie Harris


    District VII
    Brandon K. Hersey