Contact Us

Who should I contact?

At your child’s school

The first person to answer questions and resolve issues that you might have is often your child’s teacher or special education case manager.

The School Principal/Assistant Principal is responsible for setting the tone and addressing issues concerning discipline, instruction, and the climate of the school.

School contact directory →

District Central Office

The Central Office Special Education Team supports all schools, programs, and families to ensure students receive the highest quality services possible. When a question or a concern arises that cannot be addressed at your student’s school, there are resources and contacts available to get your need met.

Special Education Office contact information →

Special Education Ombudsperson

The Special Education Ombudsperson is a resource available to families who would like guidance or information regarding services, placement, or general questions about Special Education with Seattle Public Schools.

Ombudsperson contact information →

Program Specialists

Each region, as well as the Private School, Early Childhood, and Transition teams have Program Specialists on staff to support and guide IEP teams. Program Specialists are Special Education Teachers on special assignment to provide an added layer of support to your student’s teacher.

Regional Program Specialist Directory →

Special Education Regional Supervisors

Special Education Supervisors are another resource available when there are student needs that rise above what schools and Program Specialists are able to address.

Regional Supervisor Directory →

Program Supervisor Directory →

Directors

The Director of School-Based Special Education and the Director of Special Education are also available to address more complex questions and concerns when needed.

Director information →


Department of Special Education Services

specialed@seattleschools.org

206-252-0058

Fax: 206-252-0053


Special Education Records

Elizabeth Eustaquio

eoeustaquio@seattleschools.org

206-252-0892

Fax: 206-252-0895


Special Education Ombudsperson

Learn about the role of the Special Education Ombudsperson.

Margo Siegenthaler

spedombuds@seattleschools.org

206-252-0794


photo of margo siegenthaler


Referral to Special Education

Birth to 3 years of age

Within Reach of Washington State toll-free at 800-322-2588

3 to 21 years of age

ENROLLED in Seattle Public Schools

Communicate with the staff at the school your child attends for Pre-Referral and Referral

NOT ENROLLED in Seattle Public Schools

3–5 years old: use Child Find


Regional Supervisors and Program Specialists

Northeast Region

Northeast Regional Supervisor

Joe Berdins
jlberdins@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0841

Northeast Regional Program Specialists

Michelle Bammert
mtbammert@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0824


photo of Michelle Bammert

Schools:

  • Hazel Wolf K-8
  • Jane Addams Middle School
  • Bryant
  • Green Lake
  • Licton Springs K-8
  • John Rogers
  • Roosevelt
  • Sand Point
  • View Ridge
  • Wedgwood
Alessandra LaRosa

aplarosa@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0802


Schools:

  • Cascade Partnership Program
  • Eckstein
  • Nathan Hale
  • Laurelhurst
  • Olympic Hills @ Cedar Park
  • Olympic View
  • Sacajawea
  • Thornton Creek K-5
  • TOPS K-8

Northwest Region

Northwest Regional Supervisor

Teresa Swanson
taswanson@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0876

NW Regional Program Specialists

Catherine Cook
cmcook@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0863


Schools:

  • Adams
  • Ballard High School
  • Hamilton International Middle School
  • Ingraham High School
  • McDonald International School
  • John Stanford International
  • Viewlands
  • West Woodland
  • Whitman
Maki Ichikawa
maichikawa@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0833

Maki Ichikawa

Schools:

  • Cascadia Elementary
  • Daniel Bagley
  • Broadview Thomson K-8
  • The Center School
  • B.F. Day
  • Greenwood
  • Loyal Heights
  • North Beach
  • Northgate
  • Salmon Bay K-8 @ Monroe
  • Whittier

Central Region

Central Regional Supervisor (Interim)

Devin Gurley
dkgurley@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0874


photo of Devin Gurley

Central Regional Program Specialists

Laurie Chirichigno
llchirichign@seattleschools.org


photo of Laurie Chirichigno

Schools:

  • Catharine Blaine K-8
  • Frantz Coe
  • Franklin
  • Garfield
  • McClure
  • Nova
  • Washington
Elaine Parnell
aeparnell@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0875

photo of Elaine Parnell

Schools:

  • Bailey Gatzert
  • John Hay
  • Lawton
  • Leschi
  • Lowell
  • Madrona K-8
  • Thurgood Marshall
  • Montlake
  • John Muir
  • Queen Anne
  • Stevens
  • Seattle World School

Southeast Region

Southeast Regional Supervisor

Beth Thorson
bmthorson@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0262


photo of beth thorson

SE Regional Program Specialists

Marcella Helgeson
mehelgeson@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0861


photo of Marcella Helgeson

Schools:

  • Cleveland
  • Dunlap
  • Hawthorne
  • Interagency Academy
  • Martin Luther King Jr.
  • Aki Kurose
  • Rainier Beach
  • South Lake
  • South Shore K-8
  • Van Asselt
Lisa Young
lmyoung@seattleschools.org or 206-743-3544

Schools:

  • Beacon Hill International
  • Dearborn Park
  • Emerson
  • Graham Hill
  • Kimball
  • Maple
  • Mercer
  • Orca K-8
  • Rainier View
  • Wing Luke

West Seattle Region

West Seattle Regional Supervisor

Spencer Pan
rupan@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0887

photo of spencer pan

West Seattle Regional Program Specialists

Gordon Fowlds
gsfowlds@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0886


photo of gordon fowlds

Schools:

  • Alki
  • Chief Sealth
  • Concord
  • Highland Park
  • Lafayette
  • Madison
  • Pathfinder
  • Roxhill
  • Sanislo
Amanda McNaughton
ammcnaughton@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0846


photo of amanda mcnaughton

Schools:

  • Arbor Heights
  • Denny International
  • Fairmount Park
  • Gatewood
  • Genesee Hill
  • Middle College
  • Boren K8 STEM
  • West Seattle Elementary
  • West Seattle High School

Program Supervisors

Early Childhood

(Child find/Preschool/Birth-Three)

Elizabeth Carter
ercarter@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0665


photo of beth Carter

Program Specialists

Heidi Gainer
hgainer@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0849
Jennifer Pelland
japelland@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0845

Private School Supervisor

(Private School Referrals/Service Plans)

Robin Olney
reolney@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0870


photo of Robin Olney

Vision and Deaf Hard of Hearing Supervisor

Michael Dickneite
msdickneite@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0332


photo of Michael Dickneite

18-21 Year Old Transition/Bridges

Sherry Studley
srstudley@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0842


photo of Sherry Studley

Program Specialist

Glen Boyd
gmboyd@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0837


photo of Glen Boyd

504 Plans Supervisor

Sherry Studley
srstudley@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0842


photo of Sherry Studley


Directors

Chief of Student Support Services

Wyeth Jessee
specialed@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0058


photo of wyeth jessee

Director of Special Education

Michaela Clancy
specialed@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0058


photo of Michaela Clancy

Interim Director of Special Education

Trish Campbell
specialed@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0058


photo of Trish Campbell

Director of Student Support Services

Kari Hanson
specialed@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0058


photo of kari hanson

© Seattle Public SchoolsWebsite by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.