Skip To ContentSkip To Content
    Seattle Schools Receives State Board of Education Recognition
    Posted on 05/24/2019
    2017-18 Washington-State Recognized School

    Eighteen (18) Seattle schools are being awarded for their work in closing gaps, growth, and achievement by the State Board of Education.

    The criteria for recognition includes: growth and achievement on academic indicators (proficiency, growth, graduation rate, English language progress) as well as school quality and student success measures (dual credit participation, regular attendance, and ninth grade on track rates). Read more on the interpretation of these results, and to review a more detailed description of the methodology.

    The following schools will be awarded at a ceremony in Olympia on June 6:

    • Adams Elementary
    • Alki Elementary
    • APP at Lincoln (Now Cascadia Elementary School)
    • Beacon Hill Elementary
    • Fairmont Park Elementary
    • Frantz Coe Elementary
    • Graham Hill Elementary
    • Hawthorne Elementary
    • Jane Addams Middle School
    • John Hay Elementary
    • John Muir Elementary
    • John Rogers Elementary
    • McDonald International School
    • Middle College
    • Seattle World School
    • View Ridge Elementary
    • Viewlands Elementary
    • Washington Middle School

    The mentioned schools have demonstrated significant progress towards closing opportunity and achievement gaps in the Washington School Improvement Framework (WSIF) measures. According to a press release from the State Board of Education, Kevin Laverty, Chair of the State Board of Education commended the recognized schools, as they were in the top 20% of multiple measures and are closing achievement gaps or have all student groups achieving at a high level. He went on to say that every school which earned this State recognition should be very proud of their students and staff for exemplary work.

    The recognition will take place at a ceremony on June 6 in Spokane and Olympia. Congratulations to all 18 Seattle schools on this honor!

    Read more on the list of schools that will be awarded.